Offset your carbon footprint left by using your smart phone for only $10. Take action now!
Climate change and its impacts

Greenhouse Gases (GHG) and Climate Change. 
 

Climatic changes are lasting changes in climate. The origin of these changes may be due to natural climate variability or human activities. While natural climatic change occurs over long periods, the changes induced by humans are much faster and are mainly attributed to the industrialization of the planet and the massive use of fossil fuels which emit greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs including CO2) and change the composition of the atmosphere of the Earth.

The greenhouse effect is a natural phenomenon essential for life on the planet. Without this, the average temperature on Earth would be -18 ° C while it is about 15 ° C. In fact, GHGs are gaseous components in the atmosphere that have the ability to trap the sun's heat and increase the temperature of the planet. With the industrial revolution, humans have released gases into the atmosphere (carbon dioxide, methane, nitrogen oxides, etc.) that artificially increase the greenhouse effect, which contributed to the increase in average temperature of our planet.

Climatic change related to global warming is a major problem that is global in scope requiring major actions to reduce emissions and develop adaptation measures.

Climatic changes are already being felt. In Canada alone, although the Arctic ecosystems are the hardest hit, scientific projections indicate that climatic changes will include the following consequences: increased smog and heat waves, the spread of infectious diseases due to the migration towards the north of insects that transmit these diseases and the possible decline in the quality and quantity of drinking water to name a few.
 

GHGs Reduction.
 

Calculate, reduce and offset their emissions.
 

Carbon offsetting offers the possibility of reducing the impact of human activities on climate. To do this, it is necessary to calculate their emissions. However, above all it is important to change our behaviour and reduce emissions. That said, regardless of the reduction efforts, citizens and businesses are faced with residual GHG emissions that can be offset by purchasing carbon credits.

The heating and cooling of buildings, electricity consumption, transport as a whole and particularly air travel are all examples of activities that generate GHG emissions and contribute to global warming. In Quebec in particular, transport is responsible for 40% of GHG emissions.

To calculate GHG emissions, some data is needed and its accuracy may vary. This section lists various formulas based on available data. The most accurate results will come from calculations based on accurate data. For example, to calculate emissions from the electrical energy consumption, it will be based on actual consumption in kWh. If you are interested in travelling by car, the amount of fuel consumed in litres, will provide a more accurate result. However, the data may be difficult to obtain and estimated approaches can be considered.

To convert emitting activities in GHG emissions, emission factors are used. A quantity of fuel multiplied by the appropriate emission factor converts litres of fuel in CO2 kg. To ensure the accuracy of calculations, recognized emission factors should be used.

Depending on whether it is the emissions of a business or civic emissions, the calculations can be more or less complex and require a thorough study of activity sectors emitting GHGs. The most common basic activities are the following:
 

Method based on available data. 

 

Home / building:             Electricity (kWh)

                                                 Natural gas (m3)

                                                  Heating oil (L)

 

 

Transport (motorcycle, car, truck, etc.):       Petrol (L)

                                                                             Diesel (L)

 

Estimation Method

 

Home / building:              Area (pi2)

 

Transport:                                Distance travelled (km)

 

Air transport:                    Distance travelled (km)

 

 

 

Why offset?
 

Personally, the offset consists of doing a voluntary act to reduce its carbon footprint and actively participate in sustainable development. From a corporate perspective, voluntary compensation can help favourably position the company as a leader in its business sector by demonstrating its social responsibility. Offset the emission of one ton of CO2, always brings a climatic benefit, because the investment is to fund projects that are conducive to reducing emissions of greenhouse gases.

 

 

 

Benefits of the tree.
 

Although the main cause of global warming and greenhouse gas emissions results from the combustion of fossil fuels, forest degradation and deforestation is responsible for about 20% of GHG emissions globally. Forest management as a tool to combat climatic change has therefore been seen granted a growing interest globally in recent years. Also, it is important to add that the application of reforestation practices, sustainable forest management or forest conservation not only has significant environmental benefits, but also social and economic gains.
 

Environmental benefits.
 

Forests are carbon sinks. In fact, appearing as one of the climate change mitigation levers planting trees helps to capture carbon dioxide during their growth. Beyond carbon, forests provide many environmental services. They play an important role from the hydrological point of view, soil productivity, air quality, the fight against erosion and local climate regulation.

In addition, when afforestation is done on highly degraded land restoration of the resulting ecosystem allows the creation of ecological niches for different species and thus becomes a biodiversity source.

In urban areas, tree planting also has many benefits. One of the main effects is to fight against the effects of urban heat island. The latter artificially created an increase in local temperature by the dense and built environment. In addition, the greenery acts as a filter for the ambient air and helps to capture fine particles heavily concentrated in urban areas. The vegetation cover absorbs the pollutants through photosynthesis and trap in their leaves. By increasing the production of oxygen and the reduction of CO2 by photosynthesis, the vegetation reduces air pollution.

In the built environment, trees also contribute to water retention reducing overflows and peak flows cannot be treated entirely in the water treatment stations.
 

Social and economic benefits. 
 

Reforestation generates profits for the territory on which it is located that are both economic and social thereby completing the environmental pillar of sustainable development. Reforestation projects contribute significantly to the creation of whatsoever local jobs, at the level of creation and maintenance of forested land and can also contribute to the awareness of the issues of biodiversity and preservation

 

 

Why forest carbon credit. 
 

Our carbon credits;
 

The forest carbon credits generated by CO2 Environnement come from the first and only project approved Gold Standard transition in North America the strongest standard in terms of forestry credits. Conducted in the Great Montreal region, the project focuses on reforestation of degraded and unused land in urban and semi-urban areas, as well as the upgrading of forest ecosystems and the creation of green spaces. New forests created by planting 375,000 trees are strategically located in the administrative regions of the Laurentides, Lanaudière and Montérégie.

More specifically, the site of the company plantations are located in Terrebonne on land belonging to the Golf Club Mirage in Carignan, on the lands of a private developer in St. Bruno on land belonging to the company DJL at Mirabel on land managed by Aéroports de Montreal and the Quebec Ministry of Transport and in Blainville on the land in the municipality. Of this plantation, 41,890 carbon credits have been approved by reforesting more than 110 hectares of wasteland

 

Marketing related to carbon offset.
 

The compensation or carbon neutrality can help you stand out from the competition by positioning yourself as being an innovative player in your business sector by using this as an important point in your communications. However, it is prudent to clearly communicate the purpose of the carbon offset and ensure the purchase of offsets whose quality is perfect to avoid "greenwashing".

In fact, in a movement where companies are increasingly seeking to position themselves as being more socially responsible, cite that all the reforestation initiatives are not equal. Planting a tree does not necessarily lead to the granting of carbon credits according to recognized a standard which has no valid impact from the climate point of view. For the process to be credible and that there is no detrimental effect to the company, the carbon credit must have been certified by an independent body.

 

 

Carbon credits in general.
 

Analyzing standards;
 

What we are interested in the regulatory market or voluntary market, some basic concepts must be respected to ensure the soundness and credibility of the carbon credits and therefore their climatic benefits. The main basic concepts refer to additionality, leaks, permanence, third party verification and the uniqueness of the credit so that it is impossible to sell the same credit more than once.

A certain number of standards exist in the voluntary market to ensure the quality of carbon credits. There are the VCS, Gold Standard transition (GS), the Climate, Community and Biodiversity Standards (CCBS), the Plan Vivo, the Climate Action Registry (CAR) and the Social Carbon. However, some standards do not generate carbon credits themselves and do not have a record of avoiding double counting attesting the transparency of the process. This is particularly the case of the ISO 14064 and the standards which are only interested in social aspect or biodiversity.
 

Quality criteria.
 

Additionality;
 

Building block of carbon credits, the activities to reduce GHG emissions must be additional. In other words, they should allow demonstrating that the reduction would not have occurred in a business as usual scenario. Thus, the emission reductions would not have occurred without the funding of the offset thereby offering an additional climate benefit.
 

Leaks;
 

The leaks are interested in moving or increasing the GHG emissions beyond the project limits and which are generated by its implementation, by the movement of people or activities. These should be targeted and compensation measures must be set up as long as they are being monitored and deducted from the total emission reductions that can be claimed. They are a particularly important issue with regard to reforestation projects.
 

Permanence;
 

The forestry projects lead to net reductions in emissions through the storage of CO2 from the atmosphere. One of the key points is to ensure that the reductions through these projects result in permanent benefits and that the carbon sequestered will not be released into the atmosphere as a result of hazards such as fire or vermin to name a few. The serious standards such as the Gold Standard transition have adopted several methods to insure the risks of non-permanence associated with these projects.

Verification;
 

To ensure the credibility of carbon credits, the serious standards establish procedures and design processes of the projects and make the verification by third parties mandatory for the issuance of credits. The verification of the reductions of emission achieved requires frequent and constant monitoring of results over time to ensure that the reductions are actually achieved.

Downloadable documents


Copyright 2013. CO2 Environnement

Pour seulement 10$, compensez votre empreinte de carbone laissée par l’utilisation de votre téléphone intelligent. Agissez!
Changements climatiques et ses impacts
GES et changements climatiques 

Les changements climatiques sont des modifications durables du climat. L'origine de ces changements peut-être due à la variabilité naturelle du climat ou aux activités humaines. Alors que le changement climatique naturel s'effectue sur de longues périodes, les changements induits par l'homme sont beaucoup plus rapides et sont principalement attribués à l'industrialisation de la planète et à l'utilisation massive d'énergies fossiles lesquelles dégagent des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES dont le CO2) et modifient la composition de l'atmosphère de la Terre.

L'effet de serre est un phénomène naturel indispensable à la vie sur la planète. Sans ce phénomène, la température moyenne sur Terre serait de -18°C alors qu'elle est d'environ 15°C. En effet, les GES sont des composants gazeux présents dans l'atmosphère qui ont la capacité d’emprisonner la chaleur du soleil et augmenter la température de la planète. Avec l'ère industrielle, l'homme a rejeté dans l'atmosphère des gaz (gaz carbonique, méthane, oxydes d'azote, etc.) qui augmentent artificiellement l'effet de serre et qui ont contribué à l'augmentation de la température moyenne de notre planète.

Les changements climatiques liés au réchauffement planétaire sont un problème capital dont la portée est mondiale nécessitant des actions d’envergure pour réduire les émissions et mettre en place des mesures d’adaptation.

Les changements climatiques se font déjà sentir. Au Canada seulement, bien que les écosystèmes arctiques sont le plus durement touchés, les projections scientifiques dénotent que les changements climatiques auront notamment les conséquences suivantes : l’augmentation du smog et des vagues de chaleur, la propagation de maladies infectieuses en raison de la migration vers le nord des insectes qui transmettent ces maladies ainsi que la possible diminution de la qualité et de la quantité d’eau potable pour ne nommer que ceux-ci.


Réduction GES

Calculer, réduire et compenser ses émissions

La compensation carbone offre la possibilité de réduire l'impact des activités humaines sur le climat. Pour ce faire, il convient de calculer ses émissions. Toutefois, il est important, avant tout, de changer nos comportements et de réduire ses émissions. Cela dit, peu importe les efforts de réduction, les citoyens comme les entreprises sont confrontés aux émissions de GES résiduelles lesquelles peuvent ainsi être compensées par l'achat de crédits de carbone.

Le chauffage et la climatisation des bâtiments, la consommation d'électricité, le transport dans son ensemble et particulièrement les déplacements aériens sont tous des exemples d’activités qui génèrent des émissions de GES et contribuent au réchauffement climatique. Au Québec en particulier, les transports sont responsables de 40 % des émissions de GES.

Afin de calculer les émissions de GES, certaines données sont nécessaires et leur degré d'exactitude peut varier. La présente section énumère diverse formules en fonction des données disponibles. Les résultats les plus précis proviendront de calculs basés sur des données exactes. Par exemple, afin de calculer les émissions provenant de la consommation énergétique d'électricité, l'on se basera sur la consommation réelle en kWh. Si l'on s'intéresse aux déplacements en voiture, la quantité de carburant consommée en litres, procurera un résultat plus précis. Toutefois, les données peuvent être difficiles à obtenir et des approches estimatives peuvent être considérées. 

Afin de convertir les activités émettrices en émission de GES, des facteurs d’émission sont utilisés. Une quantité de combustible, multipliée par le facteur d'émission approprié traduira des litres de carburant en kg de CO2. Afin de garantir l'exactitude des calculs, des facteurs d'émissions reconnus doivent être utilisés.

Dépendant qu'il s'agisse des émissions d'une entreprise ou des émissions citoyennes, les calculs peuvent être plus ou moins complexes et nécessiter une étude approfondie des secteurs d'activités émettant des GES. Les activités de base les plus répandues sont les suivantes:

 

Méthode basée sur des données disponibles. 

 

Habitation/bâtiment:             Électricité (kWh)

                                                 Gaz naturel (m3)

                                                  Huile à chauffage (L)

 

 

Transport (moto, voiture, camion, etc.):       Essence (L)

                                                                             Diesel (L)

 

Méthode estimative

 

Habitation/bâtiment:              Superficie (pi2)

 

Transport:                                Distance parcourue (km)

 

Transport aérien:                    Distance parcourue (km)

 

 

 

Pourquoi compenser?

À titre personnel, la compensation consiste à poser un geste volontaire afin de réduire son empreinte climatique et participer activement au développement durable. D'un point de vue corporatif, la compensation volontaire peut permettre de positionner favorablement son entreprise comme leader dans son secteur d'activités en démontrant sa responsabilité sociale. Compenser l’émission d’une  tonne de CO2 , apporte  toujours un bénéfice climatique, car l'investissement consiste à financer des projets qui sont propices à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. 

 

 

 

Bienfaits de l’arbre

Bien que la cause principale du réchauffement climatique et des émissions de GES résulte de la combustion des énergies fossiles, la dégradation des forêts et le déboisement sont responsables d'environ 20 % des émissions de GES à l'échelle internationale. L'aménagement forestier comme outil de lutte aux changements climatiques s'est donc vu octroyer un intérêt grandissant à l'échelle planétaire au cours des dernières années. Aussi, il importe d’ajouter que l’application de pratiques de reboisement, de gestion durable des forêts ou de préservation des forêts comporte non seulement des gains environnementaux intéressants, mais également des gains sociaux et économiques.

Bénéfices environnementaux

Les forêts sont des puits de carbone. En effet, figurant comme l'un des leviers d’atténuation des changements climatiques la plantation d'arbres permet de capter du dioxyde de carbone lors de leur croissance. Au-delà du carbone, les forêts rendent de nombreux services environnementaux. Elles jouent un rôle  important des points de vue hydrologiques, productivité des sols, qualité de l'air, lutte contre l'érosion et régulation du climat local.

De plus, lorsque les projets de boisement s'effectuent sur des terres fortement dégradées la restauration de l'écosystème qui en résulte permet la création de niches écologiques pour diverses espèces et devient donc une source de biodiversité.

En milieu urbain, la plantation d'arbres a également de nombreux bénéfices. L'un des principaux effets est de lutter contre l'effet d'îlot de chaleur urbain. Ce dernier créé artificiellement une augmentation de la température locale par l'environnement dense et bâti. De plus, la verdure agit comme filtre pour l’air ambiant et permet de capter les particules fines fortement concentrées en zones urbaines. La couverture végétale absorbe les polluants atmosphériques par la photosynthèse et les emprisonnent dans leurs feuilles. En augmentant la production d’oxygène et la diminution du taux de CO2, par photosynthèse, les végétaux réduisent la pollution atmosphérique.

En milieu bâti, les arbres contribuent également à la rétention d'eau réduisant les débordements et les débits de pointe ne pouvant être traités en totalité dans les stations de traitement des eaux.

Bénéfices sociaux et économiques

Le reboisement génère des bénéfices pour le territoire sur lequel il est implanté qui sont à la fois économiques et sociaux complétant par le fait même le volet environnemental du développement durable. Les projets de reboisement contribuent notamment à la création d'emplois locaux que ce soit tant au niveau de la création et de l'entretien du territoire boisé et peuvent également contribuer à la sensibilisation de la population aux enjeux de biodiversité et de préservation. 

 

Veut-on exploiter davantage cet aspect? beaucoup d'informations sont disponibles, mais font référence à l'aspect apaisant des végétaux et peuvent parfois verser dans "l'ésotérique"

Pourquoi le crédit de carbone forestier 

Nos crédits de carbone

Les crédits de carbone forestiers générés par CO2 environnement proviennent du premier et unique projet homologué Gold Standard transition en Amérique du Nord le standard le plus robuste en terme de crédits forestiers. Mené dans la grande région métropolitaine de Montréal, le projet met l'accent sur le reboisement des terres dégradées et inutilisées en zones urbaines et semi-urbaines, de même que sur la revalorisation d’écosystèmes forestiers et la création d'espaces verts. Les nouvelles forêts créées par la plantation de 375 000 arbres sont stratégiquement situées dans les régions administratives des Laurentides, Lanaudière et de la Montérégie.

Plus spécifiquement, les lieux de plantations de l’entreprise sont situés à Terrebonne sur des terres appartenant au Club de Golf le Mirage, à Carignan sur les terres d’un promoteur privé, à St Bruno sur des terres appartenant à la compagnie DJL, à Mirabel sur des terres gérées par Aéroports de Montréal et le Ministère des Transports du Québec et ainsi qu’à Blainville sur des terres de la municipalité. De cette plantation, 41,890 crédits de carbone ont été homologués en reboisant plus de 110 hectares de terres en friche.

 

Le marketing relié à la compensation carbone

La compensation ou la carboneutralité peut vous aider à vous démarquer de la concurrence en vous positionnant comme étant un acteur novateur de votre secteur d'activités en faisant valoir cet aspect dans vos communications. Toutefois, il est prudent de communiquer clairement l'objet de la compensation carbone et s'assurer de l'achat de crédits compensatoires dont la qualité est irréprochable afin d'éviter le "greenwashing".

En effet, dans un mouvement où les entreprises cherchent de plus à plus se positionner comme étant socialement responsables, mentionnons que toutes les initiatives de reboisement ne sont pas égales.  Planter un arbre ne mène pas nécessairement à l'octroi de crédits de carbone selon un standard reconnu ce qui n'a pas d'impact valable du point de vue climatique. Pour que la démarche soit crédible et qu'il n'y ait pas d'effet néfaste pour l'entreprise, le crédit de carbone doit avoir été certifié par un organisme indépendant.

 

 

 

Crédits de carbone en général

Analyse des standards

Que l'on s'intéresse au marché réglementaire ou au marché volontaire, certains concepts de base doivent être respectés pour assurer la solidité et la crédibilité des crédits de carbone et par conséquent leurs avantages climatiques. Les principaux concepts de base réfèrent à  l’additionnalité, aux fuites, à la permanence, la vérification par un tiers et le caractère unique du crédit afin qu'il soit impossible de vendre le même crédit plus d'une fois.

Un certain nombre de standards existe sur le marché volontaire afin de garantir la qualité des crédits de carbone. Il existe notamment VCS, le Gold Standard transition (GS), le Climate, Community and Biodiversity Standards (CCBS), le Plan Vivo, le Climate Action Registry (CAR)et le Social Carbone. Toutefois, certains standards ne génèrent pas de crédits de carbone à proprement dit et ne disposent pas d'un registre évitant le double comptage attestant de la transparence de la démarche. C'est le cas en particulier de la norme ISO 14064 et des standards qui ne s'intéressent qu'au volet social ou à la biodiversité.

Critères de qualités

Additionnalité

Pierre d'assise des crédits de carbone, les activités de réduction des émissions de GES doivent être additionnelles.  En d'autres termes, elles doivent permettre d’établir que la réduction ne se serait pas produite dans un scénario de statu quo. Ainsi, les réductions d’émissions n’auraient pas eu lieu sans le financement de la compensation offrant par conséquent un avantage climatique supplémentaire.

Fuites

Les fuites s'intéressent au déplacement ou à l’augmentation des émissions de GES au-delà des limites du projet et qui sont engendrées par sa mise en oeuvre par le déplacement de personnes ou d'activités. Ces dernières doivent être ciblées et des mesures d'atténuation doivent être mises en place d'autant qu'elles font l’objet de suivi et être déduites des réductions d’émissions totales pouvant être revendiquées. Elles sont une problématique importante particulièrement en ce qui concerne les projets de reboisement.

Permanence

Les projets forestiers entrainent de nettes réductions d’émissions par le biais du stockage de CO2 issu de l’atmosphère. L’un des points fondamentaux est de s’assurer que les réductions via ces projets se traduisent par des bénéfices permanents et que le carbone séquestré ne sera pas libéré dans l’atmosphère suite à des risques tels que les incendies ou la vermine pour ne nommer que ceux-ci. Les standards sérieux comme le Gold Standard transition ont adopté plusieurs méthodes pour assurer les risques de non-permanence liés à ces projets.

Vérification

Afin de garantir la crédibilité de crédits de carbone, les standards sérieux établissent des procédures et processus de conception des projets et rendent la vérification par des tiers obligatoire pour l’émission des crédits. La vérification des réductions d’émissions obtenues exige un suivi fréquent et constant des résultats dans le temps afin d'assurer que les réductions sont réellement obtenues.

 

Overview fundamental components of forest carbon standards

Standard

A/R CDM

American Carbon Registry (ACR)

CarbonFix Standard (CFS)

Climate Action Reserve (CAR)

Climate, Community & Biodiversity Standards (CCBS)

ISO 14064-2/3:2006

Plan Vivo Standards

Social Carbon Standard

Verified Carbon Standard (VCS)


Eligible project location

Non-Annex I countries

Globally

Globally

United States of America

Globally

Globally

Developing countries

Globally

Globally

Baseline/Additionality

o

o

Leakage

o

o

Quantification and accounting of GHGs

o

Permanence

Not applicable

o

Not applicable

Environmental and social performance

o

Monitoring guidance

3rd-party validation/verification

Accreditation of validators/verifiers

Prevention of double counting

w

Not applicable

 

Documents téléchargeables


Copyright 2013. CO2 Environnement